2016

Inspired by one of my brothers, I decided to choose a word for 2016. The way he defined/described the purpose of the word was as an alternative to resolutions. Not only that, but it, in some ways, is even more than a list of things you want to accomplish. Instead, the word helps to guide you throughout the year and when it comes to decisions you need (or want) to make. It can embody a plethora of goals/ambitions/aspirations. I think I’ve done resolutions in the past, but I haven’t really adhered to them very strictly.

After hearing his take on having a word, I decided to think of one for myself and finally chose Endeavor. It has a couple definitions, which I’ve written below:

en·deav·or
verb
1. try hard to do or achieve something.
noun
1. an attempt to achieve a goal.
2. earnest and industrious effort, especially when sustained over a period of time.
  • an enterprise or undertaking.

 

The more I think about this word, the more I think it is perfect for me. I’m in such a weird place in my life. In almost every way. I’ve been feeling stagnant and stuck. I hate it, but I don’t know what to do about it. This year, though, I want to try to accomplish and reach for things that I want. Even if/although I think I won’t be successful..or despite all the fear(s) I have, I want to try. I want to intentionally pursue the things I want in life. I read a quote that basically talked about the significance of trying. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being afraid to fail…falling is part of life. But not trying is a whole different beast. This is going to be very hard for me and will require me stepping out of my comfort zone in so many ways. Not to be cliche, but I hope this is the start of a new journey for me. Come what may. (to an extent lol).

Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “2016

  1. Zezee says:

    I wish you all the best! 🙂
    I do the same as well — choose a word for the year. I started doing that shortly after college and it works best for me. It helps me to better gear my goals toward what I want to achieve that year.
    This year I have a phrase “It’s all a matter of perspective” because I realize that things aren’t always as bad as they seem, depending on how you look at the situation.
    I realized that last year because I felt stagnant and stuck but when I told my friend that and then told him everything I’ve done and accomplished up to that point, he made me realize that I’m not as stuck as I thought I was. I’m moving forward just not in the way I thought I would so I didn’t notice.

  2. Liselle says:

    I LOVEEEEEEEEEE THIS! I also have a serious struggle with allowing fear of failure to keep me immobilized, but you’d be surprised how much you accomplish when i just go out there and do it scared! God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

