Together

Here I’ll describe things we did together, what we enjoyed, and some of our favorite things:Ā 

Hm…oddly enough I think I never really noticed some things we both enjoyed until later in life.

We both loved romance movies. You are/were a sucker for a good love story. I remember when the 3 of us saw P.S. I Love You in theaters and you cried smh…we looked at you like, “Mom..are you crying!?” and just shook our heads lol One movie we both loved, though, was City of Angels. Sarah McLachlan’s song, “Angel” is our song lol I still like it..makes me think of you. I only recently started to actually listen to the words.

I think I got an early love/appreciation of old music from you. Cleaning the house on Saturday mornings by listening to oldies on the radio..blasting it and all of us singing at the top of our lungs while we scrubbed. I remember calling you senior year of undergrad and telling you how much I loved this Otis Redding song, I think it was “These Arms of Mine”. And you told me that I was truly your daughter. Seemed over the years there were a few things that were signature to us being your children šŸ™‚ I also enjoyed the O’Jays, The Temptations…so many more. But I feel like that eased me into my current love for Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Ella Fitzgerald, Nat King Cole…all of them. I definitely attribute that to you. You would sing Nina Simone’s song, “Turning Point” sometimes…I always loved when you would sing that. I don’t know when it was exactly, but I have a very vivid memory of walking into the kitchen, you were standing at the stove, and I said, “Mom, sing the Nina Simone song” (at the time, I didn’t know the name of it) and you did. I love that memory.

It wasn’t until fairly recently that I discovered the passion I had for cooking. I think you contributed to that too. The few things I remember(ed) how to cook from memory, I learned from watching you. Baked chicken was a staple at our house lol You never fried chicken..but it was ok, because I could get that from Aunt E šŸ™‚ Eggplant Parmesan (which you told me how to make over the phone for Thanksgiving in 2009 and Speakerboxx & Clear Cut loved it), green beans, BBQ chicken, ultimate salads..you started it. Who would have guessed I would love it this much, though? Momo (still don’t know why we called Grandma that lol) asked you once if we could cook and you told her we could. I think I can. So much so that I want it to be involved in what I do for a living. Bet you wouldn’t have seen that coming.

While living at home I’m not sure I appreciate it, but I know you loved going to the Public Market. I think I more so enjoyed the things we got from there. The fresh fruits and vegetables…mmmm! You called me once while I was in undergrad and said, “Ade, guess what I got from the Public Market?? Grapefruits, oranges, apples…” I was completely BLOWN that you were telling me all this when I could not partake!

Generally speaking, we would watch TV or movies together, go to church, have lunch when I came home and visited you at work…oh and when we would go back and forth with just saying all kinds of nonsense and you would say, “who do you think you’re talking to?” lol And I, of course, would say, “Nobody” lol

Feel like I’m selling us short, but…yeah.

One thought on “Together

  1. Angel says:

    Once again….. Lovely ā¤ The pictures you paint with your words…. I love it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

