RTL Pt. 2

Good morning, class! This is a long one, so be prepared.

Have you ever seen someone abbreviate something and you KNOW that they did purely because they were being lazy or because they just wanted to be hip? That’s what I did. Although it’s because of the former. I didn’t want to type “Recognizing…blah blah”…but clearly I’m halfway there if I already wrote “recognizing”. Hm. Oh well. It’s shorter, so I may use RTL for the rest of the posts. Anywho. Take a look at this sign:

Chew on This...

 
Interesting, right? I was thinking and thinking about what the next ‘step’ should be and I was having a hard time coming up with anything. But then I realized that if I wanted to say advice that is correct and Godly..perhaps I should ask and then wait on God to reveal it to me. Between some conversations I have had and some blogs I have read, this morning I was thinking and then remembered this sign. There are a few definitions of Complacency, but the one I would like to pull on here is the following:
 
“a feeling of quiet pleasure or security, often while unaware of some potential danger, defect, or the like “
 
Personally, I have always heard/thought of complacency as a bad thing, but, to be fair, I must say that some of the definitions were positive. For the purposes of this post, however, it is not. The sign above reads, “COMPLACENCY IS THE ENEMY OF EXCELLENCE”.  If we remove the last two words (don’t worry..I’ll put it back) it reads, “COMPLACENCY IS THE ENEMY”. The thing about believing lies that we are told or have been told is that we have accepted them as our truth, as I have mentioned before. Once we accept them, we become complacent. We think/say to ourselves, “well, there is nothing I can do about this, because it is true and I can’t fight truth. I can’t argue with fact.” Complacency is “a feeling of quiet security, often while UNAWARE of some potential danger, defect, or the like”. When we become complacent with lies or other things/feelings we think about ourselves that don’t line up with God’s Word(s) or what He says about us, we are entering a place of SECURITY, while at the same time being unaware or accepting of the DANGER/DEFECT associated with it.
 
Why is it a place of security?  I say security because even though it hurts and is painful, we have accepted it in an attempt not to get hurt [anymore]. We accept that we are incapable of being loved (by people or God), that we are ugly (inside and/or outside), that we can’t be forgiven (by people or God), that there is no hope for the future, or whatever other thing we are being complacent about. We accept these things because it is easier to accept them, than to try to live as though they were lies and find that in fact, they are true. I told Little One once that one of my concerns about believing/thinking that I was beautiful was that the moment I start believing it, it will turn out that I’m not. So I would rather go on thinking/believing that I’m not because, while painful, it’s a pain that I know…and I would much rather deal with this than deal with the ‘crash’ that inevitably will come if I try to believe something other than what I do now. That was a loooong run-on sentence, but I’m not changing it! I digress.
 
The problem with this thinking, with this complacency is not only does it stop or hinder us from escaping the death trap that is the lie, but it can cause us to become stagnant and keep us from our EXCELLENCE. See, I told you I would put it back. COMPLACENCY IS THE ENEMY OF EXCELLENCE. Excellence, in this case, can cover a multitude of things. It can be the dream that we have for ourselves (career, life, relationships, etc.), some goal we would like to achieve, something we would like to let go of or move past. Anything. It can stop us from reaching our full potential or severely slow us down from reaching it because we are anchored to this lie. It can hinder our eyes being open to the truth. God’s truth. Whenever I mention ‘truth’, I am referring to God’s truth. Not what Person A said to you. Or what Person B did to you. Or what Persons E-M came to a consensus and decided you were. The fact of the matter is, with God on our side, we are always the majority (Romans 8:31). So no matter who stands against us, we have God, so they fall (Psalm 91).
 
 I just read a blog about how you shouldn’t put disclaimers in blogs, but I’m putting one here lol I don’t say all of that to mean that it is easy to do any of this, but but rather that even when you feel powerless, God is still powerful. And nothing and noone can separate God from His goodness or His love for you or His desire to see you walking in His plan for your life. Try Him.
 
Step #2, good readers. Recognize complacency for what it is and take measures to actively fight it.
 
Sometimes we have to extreme measures to keep us from doing or getting involved with things/people. The same applies to this situation. That means if you know that having a conversation with Person A is going to reinforce the lies you believe about yourself, maybe you shouldn’t talk to them as often. And/or pray before talking to/hanging out with them. For me, I know I tend to compare myself to people. Like ALL the time. It’s horrible. So I’m cutting back on Facebook and Twitter because something as ‘simple’ as those things, makes me think of how I’m lacking and how I need to be more like this or that, so I can get/be like this or that. So if doing something..it could be something as simple as watching a movie or a show…is going to contribute to you in a negative way, maybe reconsider. The steps to take to combat complacency vary with each person and situation, but the fact remains that you know yourself. Sometimes we don’t think about things or hope that it turns out better, but for the most part, you know. You know who or what will make you feel negatively..what will increase the lies screaming in your ear. At the very least, make it a point to surround yourself with people or things that scream God’s truth too. Devotionals, scripture, writing to God, writing down scriptures, asking/telling people you need encouragement or to pray for/with you. Posting scriptures or encouraging words/phrases around where you can always see them could help.
 
COMPLACENCY IS THE ENEMY…The Bible says that the enemy comes to steal, kill, and destroy, but God’s purpose is the complete opposite- to give us a rich and satisfying life (John 10:10). No, it doesn’t mean this thing will be easy, but it means the lies we are being told aren’t from God and they aren’t His truth. Cloud 9 reminded me of the scripture, too, that says the devil prowls around like a lion, looking to devour us (1 Peter 5:8). It isn’t a game. He’s out to kill us. But we aren’t helpless and we aren’t hopeless…but don’t underestimate him. Don’t underestimate God either.
 
Class Dismissed 😉
 
P.S.
If anyone ever has anything to add or say, opinions or whatever, feel free to post in the comments!
 
 
One thought on “RTL Pt. 2

  1. DeAnna says:

    Persons E-M are always wrong, I’ve found. 😉

Leave a Reply

