Recognizing the Lies Pt. 1

So a while back I said I was giving myself an assignment to identify steps to help breakdown (read: DESTROY) lies that we believe as truth. I think I touched briefly on the fact that one thing we have to do is recognize that it is a lie. Or at least allow for the possibility that it is a lie. I think it is hard to just stop believing something, especially if you have believed it or have been told it for a long time, sometimes years. If you wake up everyday from birth, just about, hearing people say that the sky is red, it may be hard for you, even in kindergarten, to believe that the sky is blue. Despite you even seeing with your own eyes that it is blue.

I say that last part because sometimes even though we can see and have, supposedly, ‘tangible’ evidence of something, if it is a lie that has become our truth, it doesn’t matter what we see. Which would make this a great time to bring up 2 Corinthians 5:7 which, in the New Living Translation says: “For we live by believing and not by seeing.” I think a common version of it is, “We walk by faith and not by sight.”

Let’s think about this, then. Personally, I know I am one to say (if someone gives me a compliment that I don’t agree with, for example), “thanks, but I don’t see it”. Or even if I don’t say it, I’m probably thinking it. This is a good time to draw on this scripture. Me not seeing it DOES NOT mean it isn’t true. Just because you don’t see it or don’t believe it, doesn’t mean it isn’t true. That’s like saying just because people don’t believe in God, means He doesn’t exist. God exists whether we believe in Him or not. Similarly, His Word is true, whether we believe it or not. Maybe it is cliché, but the scripture, Psalm 139: 14, is so true (in the NIV & NLV):

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well

AND

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
      Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say it- do I believe this about myself right now? Not completely. But there was a time, on October 17, 2008 actually (remember THAT day, Ace lol) when I said I was beautiful. I think that was the first time in my entire life I have ever said that. Since then, many things have happened that have made me wonder how I ever said that and is it true blah blah..but you know what? If God says up there in that scripture that I am wonderfully made, then I am. It is taking me work to really believe it in my heart, but I’m open to the possibility. My logic is not all that great when it comes to me, I allow people too much power sometimes to determine my worth or how pretty I am, but I am open to the possibility that my truth about not being beautiful is a lie.

That is step 1, good readers. Not that these are in any particular order, but rather, this is the first one I’m talking about: Be open to the possibility that the truth you believe about yourself (NO MATTER WHERE THE TRUTH CAME FROM- no matter how many people, no matter who it was or when it was or if it is still being told to you..no matter how YOU feel) is a lie. 

How do we know if it is a lie? Maybe a whole bunch of people have told you the same thing(s) your whole life. Or a whole bunch of people have treated you the same way. Or maybe you just feel this way about yourself, despite what others tell you. People on one side, people on the other. HOW do we know if it is a lie or not? Simple. What does God say? Whatever God says, THAT is the truth. Point blank, period. There is nothing else. No one else matters.

The end.

Ok, just kidding. I know that is hard. To just take that and move on, but that is how we have to try to take things. If anyone goes against God and what He says about you or what He says in His Word or to you about anything else? THEY are the wrong ones.

**WAIT! Even if I’m saying the opposite of what God says/is saying?? YES! Even if YOU are the one saying these things (which is still, in part, because it was told to you in some way), YOU are wrong.**

 Yes, it is hard. But it is NOT impossible. We have to be open to the possibility.

Class Dismissed 😉

2 thoughts on “Recognizing the Lies Pt. 1

  1. DeAnna says:

    actually, i do remember that emotional day…almost cried wen u said that lol, prob did i was crying all day.

    i LOVED this post, of course. Keep it up. I think a lot of ppl who arent going to read it need to read it. so i may just post it on some ppls walls 😉

  2. renee says:

    preach ma’am…love this!

Leave a Reply

