Psalm 142 & 143

Psalm 142

 1 I cry out to the Lord;
      I plead for the Lord’s mercy.
 2 I pour out my complaints before him
      and tell him all my troubles.
 3 When I am overwhelmed,
      you alone know the way I should turn.
   Wherever I go,
      my enemies have set traps for me.
 4 I look for someone to come and help me,
      but no one gives me a passing thought!
   No one will help me;
      no one cares a bit what happens to me.
 5 Then I pray to you, O Lord.
      I say, “You are my place of refuge.
      You are all I really want in life.
 6 Hear my cry,
      for I am very low.
   Rescue me from my persecutors,
      for they are too strong for me.
 7 Bring me out of prison
      so I can thank you.
   The godly will crowd around me,
      for you are good to me.”

David wrote some interesting stuff. Psalm 142 & 143 are ones that I came across from this ‘reading plan’ thing I have from the Bible App on my phone. I feel like this on the regular. Yesterday I was thinking that I know people who are going through a heap of stuff that is worse than what I’m dealing with. That’s true. Not saying my stuff isn’t..idk..stressful. Maybe it’s perspective? I don’t know. But what I DO know is sometimes people feel like no one knows how they feel or what they are going through, etc.,etc. At church on Sunday, that was one thing the pastor pointed out, that we are NOT alone in how we feel. Everyone has been through something and best believe there is at least one person somewhere (and probably closer than you know) that has been through or is going through what you have been through. I think these passages kind of prove that too. David went through some stuff! Read these and you can see, the man was going through.

Psalm 143 

 1 Hear my prayer, O Lord;
      listen to my plea!
      Answer me because you are faithful and righteous.
 2 Don’t put your servant on trial,
      for no one is innocent before you.
 3 My enemy has chased me.
      He has knocked me to the ground
      and forces me to live in darkness like those in the grave.
 4 I am losing all hope;
      I am paralyzed with fear.
 5 I remember the days of old.
      I ponder all your great works
      and think about what you have done.
 6 I lift my hands to you in prayer.
      I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain.
                         Interlude

 7 Come quickly, Lord, and answer me,
      for my depression deepens.
   Don’t turn away from me,
      or I will die.
 8 Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning,
      for I am trusting you.
   Show me where to walk,
      for I give myself to you.
 9 Rescue me from my enemies, Lord;
      I run to you to hide me.
 10 Teach me to do your will,
      for you are my God.
   May your gracious Spirit lead me forward
      on a firm footing.
 11 For the glory of your name, O Lord, preserve my life.
      Because of your faithfulness, bring me out of this distress.
 12 In your unfailing love, silence all my enemies
      and destroy all my foes,
      for I am your servant.

One difference (among others lol) that David is different from me, is that we can see here that he cried out to the Lord. I don’t do that on the regular. Right now I’m…well..hm. I was going to say God and I are in a tiff (s/o to Madame), but I’m not even entirely sure that would be accurate. Regardless, I know the answer lies in Him, and Him alone. In any case, these passages sum up how I and some people dear to my heart, feel sometimes. Sometimes on the regular. I would like to reiterate to the masses (and to myself) that God does hear our cries. He hasn’t left us, we do matter, it won’t always be like this. I’m reminded of something else that my dean said, too, she  said I have to be proactive. She sent me to 2 Corinthians 10:5. I will put verses 3-5 here:

3 We are human, but we don’t wage war as humans do. 4 We use God’s mighty weapons, not worldly weapons, to knock down the strongholds of human reasoning and to destroy false arguments. 5 We destroy every proud obstacle that keeps people from knowing God. We capture their rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.

Her point, in directing me here was that despite how I feel, I need to be proactive in how I deal with situations/how I feel. She knows I feel hurt and angry and sad, but I shouldn’t just sit and be in my emotions. Not at all saying I should deny how I feel, because emotions are very real and very powerful. Rather, she was saying, I should take those emotions to God and let Him help me deal with them and the surrounding circumstances. Not only that, but taking those emotions and stopping them from turning intensely negative- to depression, to thinking no one cares (including God), thinking things will never get better, etc. The end of verse 5 talks about capturing rebellious thoughts…another version says taking the thoughts captive. She asked me what that means and I said, “That we take our thoughts and apply God to them. And then they change. Take them captive like…take control of them,don’t let them develop.” She agreed, and also pointed  out, “which means we have the power to overcome our thoughts and remember that Satan does suggest stuff for us to accept as our own sometimes there are thoughts that don’t even line up with what we believe but we accept them anyway.” Then she hit me with this-  Joyce Meyer said today that “if you believe a lie, it becomes your truth“.

Wow. I really like that. I think, constantly, about people in my life that believe things about themselves or situations that aren’t true..but it is a lie they have come to believe. A lie that came from..either Satan, their parents, their friends, their (in)significant others, their friends, teachers, bosses…themselves. It is a lie and yet, because we/they believe it…it has become our truth. And once we have accepted it as a truth, it is so hard to shake that. Hard…but not impossible (s/o to Little One). Maybe that’s something I’ll do. Next few posts I’ll try to identify some steps to recognizing the lies we believe/have been told and actively seeking/believing and ultimately living the truth, God’s truth, about us and our lives. Quite an assignment I’ve given myself. Should be fun. Maybe. *shrugs*

Leave a Reply

