Alone and Afflicted

Thanks to some advice from a good friend and sister, I am really striving to be proactive during this fast. Really looking at the scriptures I have for each point and looking at them and memorizing them and standing on them. Another part is writing. I can choose to write where ever I choose, but I must write somewhere. 

One scripture that I have when I was googling scriptures about comfort is Psalm 25. Specifically 16-18, but this morning I read it in its entirety. 

David was interesting…I read in a devotional somewhere that David wrote how He felt, but He was still believing and hoping and having faith in God. He might say he felt a certain way concerning God, but he wasn’t saying God was that way, just the way he felt at the time.

16-17 state this: Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am alone and afflicted. The distresses of my heart increase

When I found that, I was like “wow. that’s definitely how I feel.” Alone and afflicted and the distresses of my heart…I feel like the distresses of my heart have increased to the point where either my heart is crushed beneath them or there’s just a gaping whole in it. Something like this. 

I think it’s important that I remember not to find scriptures like this and just dwell on that part alone. I have to also remember that David speaks of the Lord rescuing him from such affliction and he cries out to God. He says that his eyes are always on the Lord, that He pulls him from the net. Sometimes it’s like I am completely entangled in the net and I’m just slowly becoming more and more trapped. Gotta keep my eyes on the Lord though. Right?

One thought on “Alone and Afflicted

  1. This part got me “…He might say he felt a certain way concerning God, but he wasn’t saying God was that way, just the way he felt at the time…” It ministered to me! Thanks! and thanks for writing! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

